Generic Black Skirt? Yes, Please!

The April issue of Burda was a bit of an odd duck.  On the one hand, they had four separate patterns for jumpsuits, including this one:

jumpsuit

In case this isn’t obvious, this is made of purple velour.  This is for wearing out to a dinner party.  Where?  Seriously.  Where?  Surely not on Earth. 

On the other hand, there is a whole section with very sensible clothes — a nice looking pair of pants, a white button down shirt, and a simple skirt, for which this is the technical drawing:

tech_skirt

It’s very basic — an a-line type shape, with the little button detail on the top.  The buttons are not functional.  This was quite easy to make up, although in black it doesn’t photograph well.

blackskirt0031

 

 

The button detail is interesting, but I couldn’t quite figure out what I would wear this with that it would show.  I don’t have a lot of slinky turtlenecks, as suggested in the magazine.

blackskirt-002

This is one of those things: it’s very practical, it looks good, I’ll obviously make many more of them.  It’s not THAT exciting, but that’s the way it is.  Next up: a dress for wearing “out”, from March 2009.  Plus, maybe some fabric for the DH shirt…and fabric for some new pants…and…and…  I guess I should probably try to get some work done sometime, also.

3 Comments »

  1. That skirt is on my BWOF to-sew list. Very nice!

  2. Jenna said

    The skirt is nice and all, but mostly I really like those shoes.

    I wish jumpsuits would go away.

  3. […] my parents were in town (which was great).  I did, however, manage to make another version of this skirt, in a much more casual […]

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

