Jacket Done!

Oh boy!  I finished the jacket, and I’m really happy with it.  The review is here. , but a few more details, and pictures… 

Here is the jacket on me, and up close.  I actually did get a haircut, not that you could tell.

bwofjacket808

bwof_808_jacket-003

 

This was the first time I tried a number of things, the most different of which was machine sewing the entire lining.  I have typically followed the “Easy Guide to Sewing Linings” instructions, and done part of the insertion by hand.  I really, really hate sewing things by hand.  I know some people find this relaxing.  I do not.  This time, I followed the detailed “Power Sewing” instructions about how to do everything by machine.  Sandra Betzina has about fifteen steps here, but it’s really easy.  The key is to leave part of the center back lining seam unsewn.  You then sew in the lining to the facings and sew the sleeves to the lining by pulling them out the bottom through the space between the lining and the jacket, and then flip the jacket inside out on itself and sewing the lining to the hem.  You then turn it back right-side-out through the hole.  This actually doesn’t sound that easy when I’m writing it here, but it is in practice.  Especially with pictures.  What I really like about this, besides that it was much faster than doing it by hand, is the lining at the hem looks like this:

bwof_808_jacket-005

In other words, it’s very neat.  The one thing I didn’ t really get right is you then have to sew up this space in the center back lining.  I dont know how one is supposed to do this nicely, but I ended up with fraying, raw edges on the outside.  I covered them with some similarly colored ribbon, attached with Steam-A-Seam.  Not ideal, as you can see.  I’ll have to get it right for the coat…

bwof_808_jacket-0041

 

This is not that big a deal, since it gets hidden in the center back pleat anyway.   There were definitely some fit issues with this jacket, which make a muslin a must.  It’s hard to see from the pictures, where people are not wearing the jacket buttoned, but it’s a little boxy around the middle.  I had to pull it in both at the side seam and the center back seam.  Although in the end I think the fit is great, so it’s not like this wasn’t workable!

The major challenge now, of course, is finding places to wear this.  It’s somewhat fancier than my typical work outfit (some of my colleagues wear track suits to work on a regular basis).  However, I’m teaching in the spring, and I’m moving to work a slightly “fancier” version of my job starting this summer, so I think I’ll end up getting a lot of use out of this.

Oh, and all of my lovely fabric came in from Ann yesterday.  I’m off to make up a quick pair of pants, from a TNT pattern, and then I’ll get started in on the coat…

2 Comments »

  1. ALY said

    Great job on the jacket! I liked the pattern but it looked like a lot of work with all the seams and pocket flaps in the front. When I bag a lining, I do it through the underarm to wrist seam of the sleeve lining. And because it will never be seen, you can close it by machine, or be lazyand never close it. Hard to describe but it works. I think your jacket would work well over t-shirts/blouses and jeans if you wanted a more casual look.

  2. Jenna said

    Nice jacket! I do not have any thoughts on how to close a seam when you are on the wrong side of it.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

